Long Time, No Thinking

Posted: August 14, 2014 in Humanity
Tags: , ,

The Thinking Viking is angry.  I won’t go into details, but I have been face to face with Oakland, CA riot geared police a couple-ish years back.  I am a good looking, reasonably dressed,  tallish (5’11”?)  early middle aged white man with an expensive camera and photo ID on a security badge from work.  They don’t fuck with me, by and large, because I also don’t fuck with them. I’m not an idiot. They have guns and they kill people.  I have pictures I won’t share.  Had I been in Ferguson, MO and instead of being a well equipped with technology white male I had been another black teen kid  named Michael Brown,   who was just walking down the street – walking as I am want to do at night myself. I could well have been gunned down by an overzealous, over empowered, belligerent “I’m not racist” white cop.  Just sayin’.  I react to police abuse, and I am suspecting that the reasons I was never arrested in those situations was my camera, my skin color, and my clothing/gear.

 

Think about it.

TTV

 

Leave a Reply

