At first blush it seems logical.  Require a government issued photo ID to prove your identity before allowing access to the voting booth.  So people can’t cheat the system and vote multiple times, or vote under a false identity or someone else’s name. You need a license to drive,  you need to prove your age to buy alcohol, hell, I am assuming you need to show ID to serve Jury Duty.

But this threatens somethings at the core of our pseudo-democratic system. EVERYONE (with a few exceptions) has the right to vote.

This came to me as I went to vote in 2008.  I walked up, they found my name on the list of registered voters, and I told them – my name.  That’s it.  Signed my name, and went in.  That is all the proof they required. My signature and for me to have registered and appear on the list.  No photo ID card that proves I was able to go to the DMV and spend some money for a piece of plastic with my picture and a magnetic stripe.  Wait, there’s that word again. Money.  Aha. That’s it. 24th Amendment time.

Requiring a voter to provide government issued photo ID is basically requiring someone to pay to be able to vote.  And that is wrong, wrong, wrong. We have a long history that “poll taxes” – laws put in place requiring people to pay a tax to place their vote –  are unconstitutional – it’s the 24th Amendment.

Section 1. The right of citizens of the United States to vote in any primary or other election for President or Vice President, for electors for President or Vice President, or for Senator or Representative in Congress, shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or any State by reason of failure to pay any poll tax or other tax.

Section 2. The Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.”

I rarely go out to movies because I am ticked off at the prices.  Imagine having to pay ten+ bucks to vote? How loud would we scream about that?

That’s all for now.

MJ

Comments
  1. unitedcats says:

    I agree, I have serious problems with the constitutionality of these bills, and it’s clear they are about disenfranchising poor voters, not fighting fraud. On the other hand, even when one does get to vote, it’s little more than the elections in the old Soviet Union. We have just a monolithic one party state just like them, with two factions to preserve the illusion of choice. It’s no wonder all we get are clowns for candidates, they know it doesn’t matter. The founding fathers are spinning in their graves.

    • Matt Johnsen says:

      agreed. said it before, will say it again Both parties have been bought and have sold out. Only differences are superficial. Well, not entirely, but we do not get real choice. Only people we get to choose from are those who are part of the machine.

  2. […] see “Your Vote Doesn’t Count – Because You Can’t Place It”  for my take on requiring photo ID for access to the voting booth. Share […]

Leave a Reply

