Every person I have ever dated was a woman.  I’m just like that.  Makes me kind of biased, I’ll admit, but frankly, I don’t care.

What I don’t get is why so many seem to hate women, or at least think they are untrustworthy or even dangerous.  I saw a quote from a state senator from 2001, where they shared  that they felt the 19th Amendment – which gave women the right to vote – has harmed our country.  Ironically, that senator was a woman.  Now I see state after state trying to control what a woman does with her body. It all comes from the same people, the Religious Right.   I also admit that I’m not  completely qualified to judge, since I am not a woman. Apparently that doesn’t mean anything to these people either.

This is going to piss some of you off.  I will not recant.

Re: abortion.  Until the time a fetus is developed enough to survive outside the womb, it is part of a woman’s body and it is her choice what she does with it. Personally, I would never let an unwanted pregnancy get to the point where it has a face, but I’ve thought about it, and logic says, draw the line at it being viable to survive without mom.  Once it is developed enough to survive on it’s own, it is a person with rights like everyone else, until then, it is not a separate person.  There, that was  easy.  The “personhood”  bills that claim a fertilized egg should have the right to live are absurd. I saw a bill that would require women to prove miscarriages were not deliberate or face felony charges. This outrages me. My ex miscarried.  The gravity of that is still with me.  It may have been the beginning of the end of our relationship; she had said before that she didn’t want children, and I told her I felt the same.  Finding out that we almost had one may have changed her mind.  Can’t say.

Abortion opponents often imply that it is used lightly, as a way to have unprotected sex and not suffer consequences.  Song lyrics come to mind that state how I feel. Thank you “Everlast”

“Mary got pregnant from a kid named Tom, said he was in love.
He said d’ worry about a thing baby doll I’m the man you’ve been dreamin’ of.
But three months later he said he won’t date her or return her call.
And she swear god damn if I find that man I’m cuttin’ off his balls.
Then she heads for the clinic and she gets some static walkin’ through the door.
They call her a killer, and they call her a sinner, and they call her a whore.”

Trust me, it aint easy. I am still haunted, but I don’t regret what we chose to do.  At 19 I was in no way ready to be a father, and at 16 she was not ready to be a mom.  If you asked her now, I do believe she would feel the same. It not did work out for us as it did in that tune, but I understand.  Yes, you are right to infer that I could have two children with different women.  I have no children.  I’m OK with that.

Re: the uproar about religious institutions providing contraception.  This one makes no sense. None. There are already too many goddamned people on this planet.  Condoms prevent the spread of STDs.  Remember AIDS anyone?  People are going to fuck regardless of what their Church tells them. We are animals, and that is what animals do. The fact that the Catholic Church is still preaching abstinence in Africa while AIDS is still ravaging their population should be a crime.  And about the various drugs. Fact is, many contraceptive drugs are also used for other reasons.  I dated a wonderful girl years ago who routinely took six Advil three times a day, for days at a time, every month because of severe menstrual cramps.  She would literally  hide in her bedroom and cry.  After a few months, I suggested she see her doctor about it.  They gave her a hormone prescription.  The cramps subsided to tolerable levels, and I got my girlfriend for an extra week every month. Win – win.  That prescription was “The Pill”.  Was I enjoying not having to use condoms with her? Well, yes. Yes, I did enjoy that. And I see nothing wrong with it. Point- she was Catholic. She later cheated on me, I then realized she was a promiscuous type, and I dumped her.  Just the way it goes in my opinion.

Rick Santorum has said that a pregnant rape victim should be happy with God’s gift to her.  I suggest he should go undercover in a prison, drop the soap, and then accept the STD he gets as a gift from God.

MJ

Please see The Silence of the Men – men stand up and fight for the women you love!

Please see Rush Delivery for my open letter to Rush Limbaugh

Please see The Littlest, Cutest Terrorists – The Girl Scouts for more on the war on women

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    If people stopped referring to estrogen/hormone therapy as “birth control pills”, maybe some of these totally ignorant men would re-think this idea. Why is it that “erectile dysfunction” gets a pass and men get boner pills and vasectomies paid by insurance companies? The government AND churches have no right to undermine, disrespect or interfere with anyone’s private medical issues. I resent that religious groups are not being called out for their interference and their forced oppression of a woman’s rights. We need freedom FROM religion!

    • Matt Johnsen says:

      Agreed. Part of my outrage is the fact that I’m atheist, but I behave as a much better Christian than these bible thumping fools. Keeping religion out of government is one of our founding principles.

  2. Mrs. Chili says:

    Thanks for chiming in on my site. I really, really appreciate the words of encouragement because I’ve gotta tell you; lately, I’ve been pretty damned discouraged.

    I’ve read through a bunch of what you’ve got here. It seems we’re quite a bit alike (though I cook my steak a little differently than you do). I hope you don’t mind my hanging around; I’ve added you to my feed reader and, I expect, will be stopping by to chat quite a bit.

    Love,

    Chili

  3. missdanielleh says:

    So glad you commented on my post because I am loving reading all of yours…seems we share a lot of the same opinions 🙂

  4. Always good to know about the men who stand up for women. None of us can go it alone. Thanks for posting this.

  5. […] Please see “I love women. My Mom was one. Not that ther’s anything wrong with that” […]

  6. Thanks a lot for being our tutor on this matter. I actually enjoyed your current article greatly and most of all appreciated the way in which you handled the aspect I considered to be controversial. You happen to be always rather kind towards readers really like me and help me in my life. Thank you.

  7. PK says:

    I am so glad to see a man standing up for women after all the hateful crap I have been reading associated with the “republican war on women”. I have even seen a few comments about women that they don’t want men associated with this fight. We need good men to help us with this battle. I think birth control is a benefit to both sexes. My husband pointed out that his Mom probably didn’t want five children but she had no choice. A really good article, thank you.

  8. shelley1laysi says:

    MJ extremely frank, honest and love the real take. I am wondering what state you live in and if you speak as well as write. I am in looking for relevant material, speakers and entertainment for our Arizona Rally with the movement Unite Against the War on Women, we are organizing all 50 states to rally and or march on the same date 4/28/2012,,,You and or a few pieces of your works seem like a great show piece for our rally. Please let me know if you are interested and close to AZ State or if you would allow me to use your works by selecting another male to possibly recite it for our rally. I can be reached on facebook Shelley *Laysi* Peterson or you can leave me a follow up comment here which will come to my email. tks:) Great stuff!

  9. Bri Broken says:

    I stumbled upon your blog earlier today… I can’t recall what tag I was searching for at the time. I saw a post or two that I liked and started following your blog. You ‘liked’ my most recent post, which brought me back to look at a link in the email that WP sent to me. And the more I read from you, the more I think you sound like just the sort of person with whom I’d love to have a beer and some conversation.

    Cheers, to being a decent human being… And to finding random such folks via the internet! 🙂

  10. Terry Sancrant says:

    re: abortion Until the time a fetus…viable to survive without mom. So a two year old who obviously couldn’t “survive withou mom” should be legal to abort?

Leave a Reply

