You should have expected this…

Posted: February 11, 2012 in My Whirled
Tags: , , , , ,

Welcome to The Thinking Viking

Well folks, it’s happened.  I’ve decided to go beyond Facebook and Twitter and share my special flavor of life with a broader audience.  I apologize in advance, but I will do this only once.  If you are foolish enough to continue reading, you deserve what you will get.

And what is that?  You will be shown the world through my eyes, my brain, my camera, my compulsive web surfing.  It will be fun, I will hopefully piss some of you off, and maybe make some of you cry, but it won’t be dull.

I’ll start off with my favorite geek joke, and leave it at that.

Werner Heisenberg is zooming along the highway and the highway patrol catches up and pulls him over.

“Do you have any idea how fast you were going?”  he asks the famous scientist.

“No, officer, but I know EXACTLY where I am”.

And so do I.
But you don’t know where I am, and maybe that’s for the best.
I might be standing right behind you about to pop a paper bag.
Goodnight.

P.S.

after some thought, I will add my tag of “mj”  to all comments etc. through this channel

MJ

Comments
  1. jfeden4 says:

    Cool intro! Love the joke!

  2. RD says:

    Wait, shouldn’t he have said, “I know exactly where I was?” I only ask because doesn’t the uncertainty principle show that the better you know the position, the less you know the momentum? So, since the police officer is using past tense, I think Heisenberg should too. This is just so we know that Heisenberg knew the exact position at the time the officer measured his momentum. I think anyway. I’ve been known to be wrong a time or nine hundred thousand.
    And yes, I know I just completely overanalyzed your awesome joke, and for that I’m super sorry.

    P.S. I love your blog. I’m sad that it was started so recently, and I don’t have any more posts to read tonight! 😦 I’ll be checking back often!

    • John Eden says:

      Yeah, you did sorta over-analyze, but technically you’re right. The uncertainly principle just says you can only know one thing or the other accurately. The really interesting part of it, to me, is that the reason for it is that observing/measuring the event alters the event. Then just kinda blend that in with the idea from the Gaia hypothesis that human intelligence is Gaia evolving a way to be aware of itself, and…. well, I don’t know what it means, but it’s going really fast!

  3. Mike de Fleuriot says:

    When I first hear of the uncertainty principle, I thought it was an unfair cheat to make things hard for science to know. Well to be honest, I still think it is unfair and a bit of a cheat, we just need bigger better detectors.

Leave a Reply

