Moving Day – Day Two

Posted: June 9, 2012 in My Whirled, Stories
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Thinking Viking is now also smelly as well as dirty.  Oof.  All this stuff is heavy when boxed up. Some of it just doesn’t pack well. Like this fan.  Or my sword collection. And how does everything get so dirty just lying around? Got an ignorable Sci-fi channel movie going for background noise, a can of Rolling Rock for refreshment.

Don’t pack the library books!  Don’t pack all the pots and pans – still need to make mac n cheese later.  On second thought, still have left overs from the pizza – after – the- farmers- market- meal so, scratch the mac n cheese.

ACHOO! ACHOO!! damn dust everywhere.  Wait – I have TWO scanners?

Actually, I have too much stuff. Three computers. Yes, I know, I’m a geek.  But three comcast remote controls as well? THREE?  Two identical bottle opener-corkscrews? Two giant pots? When am I ever going to cook four lobsters simultaneously?

And how to pack the chain mail and free weights? This stuff is heavy.  Ah, look at that. I still have her motorcycle helmet.  I’ts been what, six years? Out of sight, out of mind.  ebay, craigslist, next month, sell that thing.

Hey, it’s my CU – Boulder ID card…student number 1030 from spring 1997. Look at my damn hair.  But I am proud of the fact that I weigh the same as I did then, even if I’m not as athletic as I was then.  Gimme a break, I just turned 41 and I have a bunch of metal in my right ankle.  And..there’as my cane.

Bad memories there.

That was from when i was still recovering from my motorcycle-dump truck contest. The truck won. Had I not been wearing hard-core cycle gear, I would have likely broken both arms and maybe my collarbone as well.

my leg’s first post-surgery x-rays. You can see the staples and everything.

Wasn’t planing on writing about that.  But that’s how it goes when you move – weird stuff comes up.  Anyhow, about the leg – tri-malealor ankle fracture with displacement.  The bike right side engine case landed squarely on it as I went down. Doctors – three of them- all told me I would never run again. Fuck them.  It hurt like hell, for months and months – but I CAN run.  Secret is persistence.  Keep at it, every day, even if it seems like nothings happening.

That’s all for now, I’ll add more if anything interesting happens..

And it’s a Zippo from Antarctica.  “Operation Deep Freeze” from when my friend spent a summer…and WINTER down there.

MJ

Comments
  1. Janet Tilander says:

    Hey Matt, your ankle looked a lot like mine did after I had an encounter with the lawn. Nothing so sexy as a motorcycle-dump truck contest. Same kind of hardware and everything. Mine is out now but I keep it in a jar. Hope you healed up well.

Leave a Reply

