Frankenfish, Beetlecorn, the FDA and Monsanto

Posted: February 26, 2012 in My Whirled
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Disclaimer – I’m a scientist.  At least my degree is in Biology. These days, I work with…”computers” and lets leave it at that. But I aced genetics, ecology, plant kingdom, physiology and a few others along the way.  I used to work for a company that made medical grade brain scanners, made using used FDA compliance documentation.

So I know what I am talking about.  I’m not just  jumping on a bandwagon. Genetic engineering is cool. It can certainly save lives.  But it gets really dicey when you do it to our food supply.  And even worse when the regulatory agency that should protect us is run by someone who once worked for the industry he is “overseeing”.

Last week I saw that the FDA has approved a farm-raised salmon that has been spliced with some sort of eel.  My first thought was “Frankenfish”.  It grows to market size much faster.  And probably tastes as awful as farm raised salmon tastes.  Not relevant.  Two big dangers here.

First is the Jurassic park effect.  Once these things are self re-populating, odds are eventually some will escape or be otherwise released, and we have ZERO idea about how they will compete in a wild system.  Maybe they would die.  Maybe they would mate with their wild cohorts and we will see a bonanza of huge fish.  Bad, but could be worse.  They could interbreed and the resulting hybrid could be sterile. No more wild salmon.  Ecology of the entire oceans food chain disrupted.  Perhaps the hybrid goes super-huge and starts eating whales.  Not likely, but stranger things have happened.

Second, I don’t really trust the FDA.  I doubt I would like the research they have done on nutrition and safety.  This fish’s metabolism might concentrate some strange chemical/heavy metal/pesticide in its tissue that only manifests after years of consumption.  This leads me to the next bit.

I only tonight learned about Beetlecorn, but it doesn’t surprise me.  Apparently it is a hybrid corn spliced with the DNA of some strange-ass beetle which makes it …wait for it… produce  toxins.  You read that right.  It makes its own pesticide.  Convenient. Until this makes the pest evolve and devour a now-not-diverse food supply.  The Irish learned about agricultural diversity the hard way.  We’re already eating this stuff.

Here’s a quote on the subject  from http://www.extension.umn.edu/distribution/cropsystems/dc7055.html#ch3

“Although conventional Bt insecticides may perform as well as synthetic insecticides, their performance is not always consistent. Erratic performance of Bt insecticides is attributed to:

  • toxin sensitivity to UV radiation, heat and desiccation,
  • incomplete coverage of feeding sites, or
  • reduced toxicity against older larvae.

Modifying a corn plant to produce its own Bt protein overcomes these liabilities. The protein is protected from rapid environmental degradation. Plants produce the protein in tissues where larvae feed, so coverage is not an issue. Finally, the protein is present whenever newly-hatched larvae try to feed, so the timing of Bt application is not a problem. The result is an efficient and consistent built-in system to deliver Bt proteins to the target pest “

I’m sorry, but I simply do not want to eat food that is essentially permeated with “incesticides”.  How about you?

And “Fuck Monsanto” for their numerous, numerous acts that are along these lines, and for their shady practices and destructive policies.  Just google “Monsanto protest” and follow the links.

MJ

For more on Monsanto please see “Walmart and Monsanto -Dastardly Duo

Comments
  1. kannakit says:

    Oh Jesus, Oh Jesus, Oh JESUS! You said the “M” word that is reminiscent of he who shall not be named!!! Effing Monsanto! I said it. I’m going to hell. Do you know that if any seeds from a farm who uses … the genetically engineered variety from that company who shall not be named, blows to a farmer’s dirt next door and the company finds out about it the farmer who doesn’t use Monsanto seeds gets sued for stealing their genetic technology??????? I am not a conspiriousy theorist in general, but I do have little trust for the FDA. Especially when it comes to the good of the American people.

  2. I like this web blog very much, Its a very nice post to read and incur information.

  3. [...] more on this general topic at Frankfish, Beetlecorn, The FDA and Monsanto Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this [...]

  4. Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, thankyou .

  5. Hey there do you mind letting me know which one hosting company you’re using? I’ve loaded your web site in 3 completely different internet browsers and so I will want to say this web site loads a lot quicker then many others. Is it possible to advise a really good web hosting provider at a fair price? Warm regards, I appreciate it!

  6. The root of your writing whilst appearing reasonable in the beginning, did not sit properly with me personally after some time. Someplace throughout the sentences you were able to make me a believer but just for a short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your jumps in logic and you might do nicely to fill in all those breaks. In the event that you actually can accomplish that, I would undoubtedly be amazed.

    • Matt Johnsen says:

      If you are a real person and would address specific issues, I’d be happy to. I have a Biology degree, which is where much of the “jumps” come from, I also try to keep my blogs relatively short and admittedly gloss over details of my thought processes.

  7. Hey I was just looking at your website in Firefox and the image at the top with the link cant show up properly. Just thought I would let you know.

  8. Camsex says:

    I conceive this website contains some very great info for everyone. “There is nothing so disagreeable, that a patient mind cannot find some solace for it.” by Lucius Annaeus Seneca.

  9. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Cheers!

  10. I really enjoy looking at on this site, it holds wonderful articles . “Dream no small dreams. They have no power to stir the souls of men.” by Victor Hugo.

  11. seoul says:

    thank you for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Truth sits upon the lips of dying men.” by Matthew Arnold.

  12. Appreciating the hard work you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  13. I like this web blog it’s a master piece! Glad I noticed this on google.

  14. I really like your writing style, good information, thanks for posting : D.

  15. DW says:

    Well, this Monsanto business explains why corn products have been making me ill for the past few years, where once I could devour nearly a bushel of cobs. It also explains why my special-needs daughter goes completely bonzo after ingesting anything with corn or soy in it.

  16. I like this web blog very much so much superb info.

  17. Really nice design and good subject matter, very little else we want :D.

  18. oil painting says:

    Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  19. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.. :)

  20. This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just earned yourself a returning visitor :)

  21. Hey, just read your post, I have been doing research on this, and your blog has helped.Hopefully I’ll see more of your posts on the net! I have added your Rss feed to my Feedburner, can’t wait to read through your other blogs.cheers

  22. Great piece of info! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thanks.

  23. Excellent read, on Frankenfish, Beetlecorn, the FDA and Monsanto The Thinking Viking I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “Too much sanity may be madness. And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be” by Miguel de Cervantes.

  24. John Eden says:

    Right on, right on, right on. Down with Monsatano.

  25. pblogs says:

    I could not refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  26. In the grand design of things you actually secure an A just for effort and hard work. Where exactly you confused everybody was in all the particulars. You know, people say, details make or break the argument.. And it could not be much more correct right here. Having said that, let me reveal to you exactly what did work. The writing is definitely quite persuasive and that is most likely the reason why I am taking the effort in order to opine. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. 2nd, whilst I can see the leaps in reason you come up with, I am not sure of just how you seem to connect the points which inturn make the conclusion. For now I will yield to your position but trust in the near future you actually link your facts much better.

  27. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for novice blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

